Skip to main content

City Charter, Rules, and Codes

Form of Government

The City of Los Angeles is a Mayor-Council-Commission form of government, as defined in the City Charter, originally adopted by the voters of the City of Los Angeles, effective July 1, 1925 and reaffirmed by a new Charter effective July 1, 2000.

A Mayor, City Controller, and City Attorney are elected by City residents every four years. Fifteen City Council members representing fifteen districts are elected by the people for four-year terms, for a maximum of three terms.

Members of Boards & Commissions are generally appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of the City Council.

There are approximately 44 departments and bureaus in the City of Los Angeles headed by General Managers that are also appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council. Most employees of the City are subject to the civil service provisions of the City Charter.

The new City Charter, effective July 2000, provided for the creation of a Citywide System of Neighborhood Councils. The goal of the Neighborhoods Councils is to promote public participation in City governance and decision-making process to create a government more responsive to local needs.

City Charter & Codes

The basic law of the government of the City of Los Angeles is found in the City Charter, first adopted by a vote of the people in 1924, effective July 1, 1925, and subsequently amended from time to time. A new City Charter was affirmed effective July 2000. 

Mayor's Executive Directives

Executive Directives are direct orders issued from the Mayor to one or more City Departments. 

Council Rules

The Rules of the Los Angeles City Council  detail the procedural rules that are adopted, pursuant to authority set forth in Charter Section 242, to assist the City Council in the orderly conduct of City business consistent with law.

Topics include: Election and Appointment of Officers; Public Notice, Attendance and Comment; Council Meeting Days and Time, Order of Business, and Quorum; Council Discussion and Time Limits; Resolutions, Contracts, Reports, and Ordinances; Voting.

Other Rules & Policies